Deeds not Words

History

- 02/03/2018 -

The claim for women's right to vote emerged in England and in industrialized societies from the mid-19th century with the Suffragists. Pacifists, they tried to influence the government directly with petitions.

Tired of not seeing any change, an alternative movement was created in 1903: the Woman's Social and Political Union (WSPU), whose members would be called the Suffragettes.

Instead of the pacifist persuasion of the Suffragists, which had been ineffective until then, they preferred militant actions to conquer their political rights: "Deeds not Words" became their slogan.

Annie Kenney and Christabel Pankhurst of WSPU, 1908
Dame Ethel during a WSPU meeting, 1912
London School of Economics Library ©
Daily Mirror ©

Protests, disturbances of public order, acts of outbursts such as chaining themselves to the gates of parliament... it is through confrontation that the Suffragettes believe they can make themselves heard by a government and a society that has always turned a deaf ear. Their actions lead to numerous arrests and imprisonment. The trials then become an arena for women to make their voices heard and disseminate their ideas through the newspapers covering these events.

The first support at the European level came from the hunger strike initiated in 1909 by imprisoned Suffragettes. Forcibly fed, their treatment is unworthy of public opinion. In spite of everything nothing changes and the repression intensifies until 1914 when the war stops all forms of protest. As a contribution to the war effort - in the same way as men who demanded the right to vote inherent to the individual and not to private property - the British government granted the right to vote to women over the age of 30 with the "Representation of the People Act 1918". However, this right remained censorial and capacious until 1928, when it became universal for women over 21 years old. Similar demands arose at the same time in the USA and France, where women obtained the right to vote in 1919 and 1944 respectively.

Suffragettes

Out of print edition

(Last models available at the workshop)

Deeds not Words

Histoire

- 02/03/2018 -

La revendication du droit de vote des femmes est apparue en Angleterre et dans les pays industrialisés à partir du milieu du XIXe siècle avec les suffragettes. Pacifistes, elles essayaient d'influencer directement le gouvernement par le biais de pétitions.

Las de ne voir aucun changement, un mouvement alternatif est créé en 1903 : l'Union sociale et politique des femmes (WSPU), dont les membres seront appelées les suffragettes.

Au lieu de la persuasion pacifiste des suffragettes, jusqu'alors inefficace, elles préfèrent les actions militantes pour conquérir leurs droits politiques : "Des actes et non des mots" (Deeds not Words) devint leur slogan.

Annie Kenney et Christabel Pankhurst du WSPU, 1908
Dame Ethel durant une réunion du WSPU, 1912
London School of Economics Library ©
Daily Mirror ©

Protestations, troubles à l'ordre public, actes de débordements comme l'enchaînement aux portes du parlement... c'est par la confrontation que les suffragettes croient pouvoir se faire entendre d'un gouvernement et d'une société qui ont toujours fait la sourde oreille. Leurs actions entraînent de nombreuses arrestations et emprisonnements. Les procès deviennent alors une arène où les femmes font entendre leur voix et diffusent leurs idées à travers les journaux qui couvrent ces événements.

Le premier soutien au niveau européen est venu de la grève de la faim initiée en 1909 par les suffragettes emprisonnées. Nourries de force, leur traitement est indigne de l'opinion publique. Malgré tout, rien ne change et la répression s'intensifie jusqu'en 1914 où la guerre met fin à toute forme de contestation. En guise de contribution à l'effort de guerre - au même titre que les hommes qui réclamaient le droit de vote inhérent à l'individu et non à la propriété privée - le gouvernement britannique accorde le droit de vote aux femmes de plus de 30 ans avec la "Representation of the People Act 1918". Cependant, ce droit est resté censuré et étendu jusqu'en 1928, date à laquelle il est devenu universel pour les femmes de plus de 21 ans. Des revendications similaires sont apparues au même moment aux États-Unis et en France, où les femmes ont obtenu le droit de vote en 1919 et 1944 respectivement.

Suffragettes

Edition épuisée

(Dernières pièces disponibles à l'Atelier)