Lucha Libre

History

- 20/10/2016 -

Introduced in Mexico during the French occupation in 1863, the Lucha libre became an integral part of Latin culture. At that time, the Mexican wrestler Enrique Ugartechea introduced the art of 'free-style' to traditional Greco-Roman combat, thus defining the foundations of Lucha Libre.

The Mexican duels differ from the American wrestling by the aerial and spectacular style of the Luchador's catches. Thanks to its less violent and fast character, Lucha Libre is an attraction for spectators of all ages.

El Santo
Blue Demon and El Santo

During the fights, the Luchador wear a mask which is the symbol of their past life. Concealing their true identity, some Luchador have managed to triumph without revealing their names. This is the case of El Santo. This wrestler entered the ring for the first time in 1942 in Mexico City and won "Battle Royal" against 8 men. This was the beginning of a long career as a Champion. During his whole life as a wrestler, nobody knew his identity until a week before his death in 1984 when he took off his mask live on a National television channel.

Luchador

Out of print edition

(Last models available at the workshop)

Lucha Libre

Histoire

- 20/10/2016 -

Introduite au Mexique durant l’occupation française en 1863, la Lucha libre est devenue une partie intégrante de la culture Latine. À cette époque, le catcheur mexicain Enrique Ugartechea introduisit l’art du ‘free-style’ au combat Gréco-Romain traditionnel, définissant ainsi les bases de la Lucha Libre.

Les duels Mexicains se distinguent du catch américain par le style aérien et spectaculaire des prises des Luchador. Grâce à son caractère moins violent et rapide, la Lucha Libre représente une attraction pour les spectateurs de tout âge.

El Santo
Blue Demon et El Santo

Durant les combats, les Luchador portent un masque qui est le symbole de leur vie passée. Dissimulant leur véritable identité, certains Luchador ont réussi à triompher sans pour autant révéler leur nom. C’est le cas de El Santo. Ce catcheur monta sur le ring pour la première fois en 1942 à Mexico City et gagna « battle royal » contre 8 hommes. Ce fut le début d’une longue carrière de Champion. Durant toute sa vie de catcheur, personne ne connut son identité jusqu’à une semaine avant sa mort en 1984 où il retira son masque en direct sur une chaîne de télévision National.

Luchador

Edition épuisée

(Dernières pièces disponibles à l'Atelier)